

## Proclamation No. 14-0763 Congratulating the Denver Outlaws for their victory in winning the 2014 Major League Lacrosse (MLL) Championship

**WHEREAS**, the Denver Outlaws kicked off their inaugural season on May 20, 2006, at INVESCO Field at Mile High Stadium and are an organization committed to not only winning MLL Championships, but to growing new lacrosse fans and to making a positive impact on Denver communities; and

**WHEREAS**, since their inaugural season, the Outlaws are the only MLL franchise to make the playoffs each consecutive season since their existence and they continue to set new lacrosse attendance records at Sports Authority Field at Mile High; and

**WHEREAS**, on August 23, 2014, the Denver Outlaws outscored the Rochester Ratters in a thrilling fourth quarter win (12-11) to capture the franchise's first MLL Championship and to receive the Steinfeld Trophy; and

**WHEREAS**, it was a team victory, John Grant, Jr. was named Coca Cola Championship Final MVP for his three-goal, four-point performance that night and Chris Bocklet made MLL history by making a goal 19 seconds into the game; the fastest goal in MLL history since 2005; and

**WHEREAS**, Head Coach B.J. O'Hara acknowledges that the team has been playing extremely well and finishing high in the standings since 2006; the team just gets better and better as they work together on offense and defense, a testament to the team commitment.

## NOW THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER:

**Section 1.** That the Denver City Council congratulates Pat Bowlen, Owner of the Denver Outlaws, Head Coach B.J. O'Hara, and the entire Denver Outlaws team and staff for an incredible 2014 Lacrosse Season and for capturing the 2014 MLL Championship and Steinfeld Trophy. Next year, Denver will be looking to the black, silver, and orange team to bring back a repeat of 2014!

**Section 2.** That the Clerk of the City and County of Denver shall attest and affix the seal of the City and County of Denver to this proclamation and that a copy be transmitted to the Denver Outlaws Franchise.

PASSED BY THE COUNCIL September 8, 2014

PRESIDENT