

City and County of Denver

Proclamation No. 22-0440 HONORING THE UNIVERSITY OF DENVER PIONEERS HOCKEY TEAM FOR THEIR 9TH NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP VICTORY

WHEREAS: The University of Denver, was founded in 1864 as Colorado Seminary, and is the oldest independent private university in the Rocky Mountain Region. The school changed its name to University of Denver in 1880, and moved from its original downtown location to its familiar 125-acre campus at Evans Ave. and S University Blvd, shortly thereafter; and

WHEREAS: In 1949 the DU Arena, a former WWII surplus drill hall from Idaho was reassembled in Denver with the addition of an ice plant, giving the university the ability to properly field an ice hockey team for the first time. The team hit the ice for their first game in December of that year, losing to the University of Saskatchewan, 17–0. Denver would lose its first 9 games before recording the school's first victory against Wyoming on January 27, 1950; and

WHEREAS: Over the past 72 years, under coaches Vern Turner, Neil Celley, Murray Armstrong, Marshall Johnston, Ralph Backstrom, Frank Serratore, George Gwozdecky, Jim Montgomery and David Carle, the mighty D.U. Pioneers developed a nationally reknowned hockey program, assembling a combined record of 1,499 wins – 988 losses – and 170 ties, winning 15 Regular Season Conference Championships and 17 Conference Playoff Championships; and

WHEREAS: About 75 Pioneers have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including such wellknown names as Keith Magnuson, Kevin Dineen, Matt Carle (2006 Hobey Baker Award winner as NCAA Player of the Year), Paul Stastny and Will Butcher (2017 Hobey Baker Award winner); and

WHEREAS: Going into this year's NCAA tournament, the Pios had won Frozen Four national championship titles in 1958, 1960, 1961, 1968, 1969, 2004, 2005 and 2017, for a total of eight, leaving them one behind University of Michigan who led with 9 titles; and

WHEREAS: The 2022 #4 ranked Pioneers won tournament games against U. Mass Lowell (3-2), and Minnesota Duluth (2-1), before defeating the previously #1 ranked University of Michigan (3-2 in overtime) to advance to the championship final; and

WHEREAS: The Pioneers met a strong Minnesota State team who led 1-0 through two periods, until D.U. exploded in the third, with five players scoring five unanswered goals for an historic 5-1 victory, giving the Pios their 9th title, putting them in a tie with Michigan for most NCAA championship wins, and making Coach David Carle the 4th youngest coach to win a Frozen Four title; and

WHEREAS: The University of Denver has sent yet another player into the NHL as forward Bobby Brink – a 2022 Hobey Baker finalist - who led the nation this year in points and assists, signed with the Philadelphia Flyers just a few days after the Frozen Four victory.

NOW, THEREFORE, LET IT BE PROCLAIMED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER:

Section 1. That the Council of the City of Denver congratulates the University of Denver Pioneers Hockey Team on their 9th National Championship and declares today, April 18, 2022, to be University of Denver Pioneers Hockey Day in the City and County of Denver.

Section 2. That the Clerk of The City and County of Denver shall attest and affix the seal of the City and County of Denver to this proclamation, and copies be transmitted to David Carle, coach of the mighty, might University of Denver Pioneers.

PASSED BY THE COUNCIL April 18, 2022

_____ PRESIDENT