Mayoral Appointments/reappointments to the Commission on Cultural Affairs

To approve the Mayoral appointments and reappointments of the following individuals to the Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs:

Viniyanka Prasad, Denver (F)(Asian)(CD10), Exec. Director/Founder of The Word, A Storytelling Sanctuary, for a term expiring August 31, 2025; reappointed;

Alexis Moore, Denver (F)(C)(CD1), urban planner, for a term expiring August 31, 20252, reappointed;

Kevin Smith, Denver (M)(C)(CD9), director of marking and partnerships at Denver Film Society, for a term expiring August 31, 2025, reappointed;

Stephanie Tavares-Rance, Aurora (F)(AA) to serve as an individual with experience in strategic partnerships, marketing, events and public relations for a term expiring August 31, 2025, reappointed;

Elizabeth Macy, Denver (F)(C)(CD2) assistant professor of ethnomusicology at MSU Denver for a term expiring August 31, 2025, appointed;

Joshua Margolin, Denver (M)(Two or More Races)(CD9) student success advisor for a term expiring August 31, 2025, appointed;

Benjamin Chavez, Denver (M)(H)(CD1) program manager for youth violence and community healing grant for a term expiring August 31, 2025, appointed;

Heather Nielsen, Denver (F)(C)(CD7), director of learning and community engagement at the Denver Art Museum to serve as Chair, appointed;

Dan Manzanares, Denver (M)(H)(CD8), manager University of Denver Prison Arts Initiative to serve as co-chair, appointed.

Purpose/Scope of the Board: RMC 28-20

The Commission is responsible for providing advice and input to the Denver Office of Cultural Affairs on issues relating to art and cultural affairs.

Member Qualifications: The Commission on Cultural Affairs seeks candidates that represent Denver's diverse community and is specifically looks for leaders who either live in Denver, or who are immersed in the Denver community with the following backgrounds and experience:

- Working artists, arts administrators, creative entrepreneurs, etc.
- Strategic Planning & Implementation
- Nonprofit Management
- Real Estate & Built Environment
- Philanthropy
- Board Development & Leadership
- Marketing & Communication
- Diversity, Equity & Inclusiveness

Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen: following submittal of applications and surveys are reviewed and scored by the Director of Arts & Venues, and both co-chairs. Interviews are conducted and once a decision has been made on the best candidates who, not only offer expertise and City Council district representation, but also bring value to the Commission based on their expertise and knowledge.

Current Board Makeup -

FloraJane DiRienzo, Denver (F)(C)(CD7)

Jami Duffy, Denver (F)(C)(CD9)

Dwayne Glapion, Denver (M)(AA)(CD 11

Lisa Kennedy, Denver (F)(C) (CD2)

Stephen Brackett, Denver (M)(AA)(CD9)

Damon McLeese, Denver (M)(C)(CD9)

Courtney Stell, Denver(F)(C)(CD3)

Dudley "Van" Schoales, Denver(M)(C)(CD10)

Paola Correa-Nava, Denver(F)(NA)(CD5)

Heather Nielsen, Denver (F)(C)(CD7) Chair

Leesly Leon, Denver (F)(LX)(CD9)

Michael McClung, Denver (M)(C)(CD10).

Aisha Ahmad-Post, Englewood (F)(Two or More Races)(CDNA)

Ricardo Acosta, Denver (M)(H)(CD8).

Dan Manzanares, Denver (M)(H)(CD8) Co-Chair

Alfredo Reyes, Denver (M)(H)(CD4)

Sarah Hogan, Denver (F)(C)(CD2)

Alexis Moore, Denver (F)(C)(CD1)

Viniyanka Prasad, Denver (F)(Asian)(CD10)

Stephanie Tavares-Rance, Aurora (F)(AA)

Kevin Smith, Denver (M)(C)(CD9)

Benjamin Chavez, Denver (M)(H)(CD1)

Joshua Margolin, Denver (CD9)(Two or More Races)(CD9)

Elizabeth Macy, Denver(F)(C)(CD2)

Additional Information: None.