Mayoral Appointments/reappointment to the Community Corrections Board

To approve the Mayoral appointments and reappointment of the following individual to the Community Corrections Board:

Charlene Emory, Denver (F)(Two or More Races) to serve as a citizen member and occasioned by the resignation of Jane Prancan for a term expiring June 30, 2023, appointed;

Alma Staub, Denver (F)(C) to serve as a representative of the Denver District Attorney's Office and occasioned by the resignation of Andrew Luxen for a term expiring June 30, 2025, appointed;

Brianne Hanson, Denver (F)(C) to serve as an individual with expertise in criminal justice for a term expiring June 30, 2026, appointed;

Scott Mangino, Denver (M)(C) to serve as a citizen member for a term expiring June 30, 2026, appointed;

DeAnna Maes, Denver (F)(H) to serve as a citizen member for a term expiring June 30, 2026, reappointed.

Purpose/Scope of the Board:

State statute establishes the creation of community corrections boards with authority to approve or disapprove the establishment and operation of community corrections programs within municipalities.

Member Qualifications:

Representatives from the following areas: DPS, victim advocates, citizens, DA's office, criminal justice, adult probation, human services, youth corrections, adult parole, public defender, local elected official, public safety, and sheriff's office.

Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen: Applicants were interviewed to determine their knowledge and interest in community corrections issues and also to determine if they met the criteria for service on the Board.

Current Makeup of Board:

Michelle Sykes, Denver (F)(AA)

Jason D. Romportl, Aurora (M)(C)

Dana Niemela, Golden (F)(C)

Charlene Emory, Denver (F)(Two or More Races)

Nicole Monroe, Aurora (F)(AA)

Hon. Julie Gonzales, Denver (F)(H)

Chris Meeks, Denver (M)(C)

Shawn Cohn, Littleton (F)(C)

Lt. Michelle Folmar, Denver (F)(C)

Sheriff Elias Diggins (M)(AA)

Alma Staub, Denver (F)(C)

Matthew Beresky, Castle Rock

Jorge Aleman, Denver (M)(H)

Merideth McGrath, Aurora (F)(C)

DeAnna Maes, Denver (F)(H)

Brianne Hanson, Denver (F)(C)

Scott Mangino, Denver M)(C)

Additional Information: None.