## **Mayoral Appointments to the Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs**

To approve the Mayoral appointments of the following individuals to the Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs:

Alicia "Bruce" Trujillo, Denver (F)(C) concert director, Swallow Hill Music Association, for a term expiring August 31, 2026, appointed;

Jada Dixon, Castle Rock (F)(AA) artistic director, Curious Theatre Company, for a term expiring August 31, 2026, appointed;

Such Charles, Denver (F)(AA), singer, songwriter and actress, for a term expiring August 31, 2026, appointed;

Rachel Garcia, Denver (F)(H) CEO, Colectiva, for a term expiring August 31, 2026, appointed;

Victoria Lyall, Denver (F)(H) curator, Denver Art Museum, for a term expiring August 31, 2026, appointed;

Jon Olafson, Denver (M)(C) attorney, for a term expiring August 31, 2026, appointed;

Tran Nguyen-Wills, Denver (F)(Asian) creative director, for a term expiring August 31, 2026, appointed;

Marisa Hollingsworth, Denver (F)(AA) executive and artistic director, for a term expiring August 31, 2026, appointed.

## Purpose/Scope of the Board: RMC 28-20

The Commission is responsible for providing advice and input to the Denver Office of Cultural Affairs on issues relating to art and cultural affairs.

**Member Qualifications:** The Commission on Cultural Affairs seeks candidates that represent Denver's diverse community and is specifically looks for leaders who either live in Denver, or who are immersed in the Denver community with the following backgrounds and experience: Working artists, arts administrators, creative entrepreneurs, etc.

Strategic Planning & Implementation Nonprofit Management Real Estate & Built Environment Philanthropy Board Development & Leadership Marketing & Communication Diversity, Equity & Inclusiveness **Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen:** Following submittal of applications and surveys were reviewed and scored by the Director of Arts & Venues, and both co-chairs. Interviews were conducted and once a decision has been made on the best candidates who, not only offer expertise and City Council district representation, but also bring value to the Commission based on their expertise and knowledge.

Current Board Makeup –

FloraJane DiRienzo, Denver (F)(C)(CD7)

Jami Duffy, Denver (F)(C)(CD9)

Lisa Kennedy, Denver (F)(C) (CD2)

Stephen Brackett, Denver (M)(AA)(CD9)

Damon McLeese, Denver (M)(C)(CD9)

Dudley "Van" Schoales, Denver(M)(C)(CD10)

Paola Correa-Nava, Denver(F)(NA)(CD5)

Heather Nielsen, Denver (F)(C)(CD7) Chair

Michael McClung, Denver (M)(C)(CD10).

Aisha Ahmad-Post, Englewood (F)(Two or More Races)(CDNA)

Ricardo Acosta, Denver (M)(H)(CD8).

Dan Manzanares, Denver (M)(H)(CD8) Co-Chair

Alfredo Reyes, Denver (M)(H)(CD4)

Sarah Hogan, Denver (F)(C)(CD2)

Alexis Moore, Denver (F)(C)(CD1)

Viniyanka Prasad, Denver (F)(Asian)(CD10)

Kevin Smith, Denver (M)(C)(CD9)

Benjamin Chavez, Denver (M)(H)(CD1)

Joshua Margolin, Denver (CD9)(Two or More Races)(CD9)

Elizabeth Macy, Denver(F)(C)(CD2)

Alice "Bruce" Trujillo, Denver (F)(C)(CD3)

Jada Nixon, Castle Rock (F)(AA)(CD6)

Marisa Hollingsworth (F)(AA)(CD6)

Tran Nguyen-Wills, Denver (F)(C)(CD1)

Jon Olafson, Denver (M)(C)(CD2)

Victoria Lyall, Denver (F)(H)(CD2)

Rachel Garcia, Denver (F)(H)(CD1)

Such Charles, Denver (F)(AA)\*CD5)

Additional Information: None.