

Proclamation 18-0555 Declaring May 15 as National Peace Officer Day and the Week of May 15 as National Police Week

WHEREAS, in 1961 President John F. Kennedy issued an Executive Order declaring May 15 National Peace Officer Day and the week of May 15 as National Police Week; and

WHEREAS, during the one hundred and fifty-nine-year history, the over ten thousand individuals who have comprised the Denver Police Department has played an essential role in safeguarding the rights and freedoms of the citizens of Denver, Colorado; and

WHEREAS, during the one hundred and fifty-nine-year history, seventy-two men and women have paid the ultimate sacrifice by giving their lives in service to protecting the citizens of the City and County of Denver; and

WHEREAS, the Denver Police Department and the Denver Police Museum have undertaken a project to place memorial signs to honor our fallen heroes at the locations where they fell; and

WHEREAS, the Denver Police Department and the Denver Police Museum will honor the following fallen officers this coming year with memorial signs including: Detective Pasquale C. Marinaro, who lost his life on April 17, 1936, Patrolman Alson E. McCasland, who was the first motorcycle officer to die in the line of duty, on May 28, 1935, John F. Dea and George P. Schneider who were both killed during a burglary on February 11, 1933 and:

WHEREAS, the Denver Police Department and the Denver Police Museum also plan to hold special memorial ceremony to mark the thirtieth anniversary of Robert Wallis' sacrifice and;

WHEREAS, the Denver Police Department and the Denver Police Foundation have recognized the following active officers for outstanding service this past year including: Officer Joseph Stadler, and Detective Rachael Eid, who both received the Medal of Honor, Detective John Mehtrens, Detective Kenneth Manzanares, Officer Kevin Burke, Officer Michele Cooper, Officer Michael Clark, Officer Robert Greaser, Sergeant Robert Stack, Officer Kevin Kirby, Officer Jarrod Tinnin, Officer Jose Diaz who all received the Medal of Valor, Officer Jeremy Arthur, Technician John Leuthauser, Officer Jose Griggs, Officer Eric Cardenas, Officer Bryce Jackson, who all received the Distinguished Service Cross, Officer Benjamin Austin, Officer Brett Lane, Sergant Damon Bowser, Officer Randy Yoder, Officer Edward Mejia, Corporal William Bastien IV, Sergeant Gary Ayers, Corporal Daniel Felkins who all received the Preservation of Life Medal and Officer Aubree Thompson, Officer Andrew Gropp who received the Purple Heart, Detective Adam Golden, Detective Louis Estrada who both received Officer of the Year, Sergeant Carla Havard who received the Award for Above and Beyond and Finally, Forensic Scientist Amy Williams as CSA Employee of the Year; and

WHEREAS, this year has been a particularly difficult year for law enforcement here in the State of Colorado, we honor the officers that have lost their lives earlier this year including Deputy Sheriff Micah Flick of El Paso County, Deputy Sheriff Heath McDonald Gumm of Adams County and Deputy Sheriff Zackari S. Parrish III of Douglas County; and

WHEREAS, it is important that all citizens know and understand the problems, duties and responsibilities of their police department and the members of our police department recognize their duty to serve the people by safeguarding life and property, by protecting them against violence, or disorder, and by protecting the innocent against deception and the weak against oppression or intimidation.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER:

Section 1. That the Denver City Council declare the week of May 15 as Peace Officer Memorial Day and Police Week to honor the active, retired, and deceased members of the Denver Police Department who have faithfully performed their duty to protect and serve the citizens of the City and County of Denver.

Section 2. That the Clerk of the City and County of Denver shall attest and affix the seal of the City and County of Denver to this proclamation and that a copy be transmitted to the Denver Police Department

PASSED BY THE COUNCIL May 14, 2018

_____ PRESIDENT PRO-TEM