

Proclamation No. CP16-0071 Celebrating the Denver Broncos as the 2016 AFC Champions and Uniting in Orange for Super Bowl 50

WHEREAS, the Denver Broncos Football Club was founded in 1960 in the Mile High City of Denver, Colorado as an original franchise of the American Football League (AFL) and joined the National Football League (NFL) in the 1970 AFL-NFL merger, and remains the only current American Football Conference (AFC) West team to never relocate, or change its name; and

WHEREAS, the Denver Broncos are owned by Pat Bowlen and have Pro Football Hall of Famers: John Elway (2004), Gary Zimmerman (2008), Floyd Little (2010), and Shannon Sharpe (2011), known for their Orange Crush Defense and having the greatest, the most devoted fan base in the NFL; and

WHEREAS, the Denver community has proudly invested in their team, converting Bears Stadium into Mile High Stadium, approving the construction of the current stadium, Sports Authority Field at Mile High and holding records for attendance and consecutive sell-out seasons; and

WHEREAS, the Denver Broncos hold fifteen divisional titles, eight AFC Championship titles, and possess two Vince Lombardi Trophies from their back-to-back victories in Super Bowl XXXII and Super Bowl XXXIII; and

WHEREAS, future Hall of Fame quarterback Peyton Manning, Coach Gary Kubiak and the NFL's top-ranked Denver Defense led by Captain DeMarcus Ware and Von Miller, had a stellar 2015 season with a record of 14-4, earning a trip to Super Bowl 50 in Santa Clara, California.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER:

Section 1. That the Council celebrates the Broncos' winning season and supports them on their quest to win their third Vince Lombardi Trophy.

Section 2. The Council is hereby "United in Orange" and Proclaims Super Bowl Sunday, February 7, 2016 to be "Orange Crush Sunday" in the City and County of Denver.

Section 3. That copies of this proclamation be transmitted to The Denver Broncos Football Club, Mr. Joe Ellis, President, and Mr. Pat Bowlen.

PASSED BY THE COUNCIL February 1, 2016	
	PRESIDENT
	_ PRESIDENT PRO-TEM