

Honoring Fallen Peace Officers

**WHEREAS**, the Denver Police Department has a one hundred fifty-seven (157) year history of providing law enforcement for the citizens of Denver; and

**WHEREAS**, during that one hundred fifty-seven year (157) history nearly ten thousand individuals have served the citizens of Denver as Denver Police Officers; and

WHEREAS, every year law enforcement officers die while protecting our homes, our families, and our loved ones; and

**WHEREAS**, during the one hundred fifty-seven (157) year history seventy-one (71) Denver Police Officers have lost their lives in the line of duty; and

WHEREAS, those officers killed in the line of duty are as follows: Officer Celena Charise Hollis, Officer David Roberts, Detective Donald Ray Young, Officer Dennis Michael Licata, Detective Michael E. Dowd, Officer Bruce VanderJagt, Officer Ronald Leon Deherrera, Officer Shawn Leinen, Detective Robert W. Wallis, Officer Edward Wier, Officer Patrick Joseph Pollock, Officer Kathleen Garcia, Detective Donald Lee DeBruno, Officer William E. Smith, Officer Merle Nading, Officer William J. Wirtz, Officer Paul D. Wilson, Officer Paul Lewis Major, Officer Carl B. Knobbe, Detective Darrell J. Suer, Officer Edward H. Smerdel, Officer Donald L. Seick, Officer William Allen Claassen, Officer Virgil M. Hall, Officer Earl F. Burns, Detective Fred Renovato, Officer Jacob Benner, Officer Forrest E. Sawyer, Detective Pasquale C. Marinaro, Police Surgeon Robert M. Campbell, Officer Alson E. McCasland, Officer Clarence E. Fraker, Officer John J. O'Donnell, Officer Thomas J. O'Connor, Detective John F. Dea, Detective George P. Schneider, Officer William C. Keating, Officer Clarence W. Alston, Officer Thomas J. Durkin, Officer Harry Ohle, Officer Elmer I. Rich, Officer James Shannon, Officer Richie Rose, Officer Arthur J. Pinkerton, Officer Forrest Ross, Officer Clarence E. Zietz, Officer William O. Steam, Officer Roy O. Downing, Officer James E. Boggio, Detective George C. Klein, Officer Emerson L. McKinnon, Officer Luther McMahill, Officer William Cabler, Officer William McPherson, Officer Samuel Charles Carpenter, Officer William P. Stephens, Officer William H. Beck, Officer John Spellman, Captain William Bohanna, Police Surgeon Frank Dulin, Special Officer Stuart K. Harvey, Officer William E. Griffiths, Officer Thomas C. Clifford, Special Policeman Wendell P. Smith, Detective Alpheus J. Moore, Special Policeman Gustave Gisin, Captain Charles A. Hawley, Officer Charles F. Wanless, Officer John C. Phillips, Officer Robert K. Evans, and Officer David Tafoya.

## NOW THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER:

**Section 1.** That the Council of the City and County of Denver declares May 9-15, 2016, National Police Week in the City and County of Denver to recognize the men and women who have sacrificed their lives, those who have served, and those who continue to serve as police officers protecting the citizens of our community.

**Section 2.** That the Clerk of the City and County of Denver shall attest and affix the seal of the City and County of Denver to this proclamation and that a copy be transmitted to the family members of the fallen peace officers.

PASSED BY THE COUNCIL May 9, 2016