

Proclamation No. 18-1383 Recognizing the 30th Anniversary Year of the Metropolitan Denver Scientific and Cultural Facilities District

WHEREAS, arts, culture, and science play a unique role in the lives of our families, our communities, our state, and our country and enrich our lives by embodying the accumulated wisdom, intellect, knowledge and imagination of humankind; and

WHEREAS, in 1988, voters in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson counties voted to create the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD), a special district collecting a 1/10 of 1% sales and use tax for distribution to arts, culture, and science organizations; and

WHEREAS, SCFD was reauthorized in 1994, 2004, and 2016 by the voters across seven counties including Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson counties securing a place for art, biology, music, zoology, dance, history, nature, and botany in the fabric of our lives – ensuring nothing less than culture for all; and

WHEREAS, in the 30 years of SCFD's existence, the landscape of arts, culture, and science in the metropolitan region has expanded greatly, with nearly 300 organizations benefitting from distributed funds in 2017; and

WHEREAS, organizations benefitting from funds from SCFD create an unparalleled level of access for Colorado residents, offering thousands of free and discounted activities each year; and

WHEREAS, nonprofit arts, culture, and science organizations drive the Colorado economy by generating \$1.9 billion in total economic activity and supporting 11,820 total jobs in 2017; and

WHEREAS, SCFD continues to thrive as a national model for cultural funding.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER:

Section 1. That the Council of the City and County of Denver, State of Colorado, does hereby proclaim 2018 as the 30th Anniversary Year of SCFD.

Section 2. That the Clerk of the City and County of Denver shall affix the seal of the City and County of Denver to this proclamation and that a copy be transmitted to the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District's Executive Director Deborah Jordy.

PASSED BY THE COUNCIL November 19, 2018

PRESIDENT