Mayoral Reappointments to the Tourism Improvement District

John Everett, Evergreen, (M)(C) to serve as a representative of the hotel and lodging association for a term expiring August 31, 2023, reappointed;

Walter Isenberg, Denver (M)(C) to serve as a representative of Visit Denver for a term expiring August 31, 2023, reappointed;

Greg Leonard, Aurora (M)(C) to serve as a representative of the Office of the Mayor for a term expiring August 31, 2023, reappointed.

Purpose/Scope of the Board:

In 2017, this quasi-government district was created, and businesses agreed to assess a tax/fee in order to pay for specific projects. The fees generated by this District will provide funds for future improvements at the Convention Center and support marketing efforts.

Member Qualifications:

17-0883 Sec.6 - Electors of the District or representative of electors.

Selection Process and why this applicant was chosen:

17-0883 Sec. 6 – Two directors shall be nominated by the Mayor, two shall be nominated by VISIT Denver and three shall be nominated by the Colorado Hotel & Lodging Assn. Metro Denver Lodging Council. Mayor reviews each Board nominee and if satisfied, appoint/reappoint nominees to District Board.

Current Board Makeup

Laura Lojas, Arvada (F)(C) – Mayor – GM Westin Hotel Manager Greg Leonard, Denver (M)(C) – Mayor – GM Hyatt Regency Convention Tracy Blair, Castle Rock (F)(C) – Hotel and Lodging Allen Paty, Centennial (M)(C) – Hotel and Lodging Navin Dimond, Cherry Hills Village – Visit Denver John Everett, Evergreen (M)(C) – Hotel and Lodging Walter Isenberg, Denver (M)(C) – Visit Denver Richard Scharf, Littleton (M)(C) – ex officio Additional Information: None