# Mayoral Appointments/reappointments to the Community Corrections Board

To approve the Mayoral appointment/reappointment of the following individual(s) to the Community Corrections Board:

Sheriff Elias Diggins, MPA, CJ, CCE,) Denver (M)(AA to serve as a representative of the Denver Sheriff's Department for a term expiring June 30, 2024, appointed;

Lt. Michelle Folmar, Denver (F)(C) to serve as a representative of the Denver Police Department for a term expiring June 30, 2024, appointed;

Chris Meeks, Denver (M)(C) to serve as an individual with experience with criminal justice for a term expiring June 30, 2024, appointed;

Shawn Cohn, Littleton (F)(C) to serve as a representative with experience in probation services for a term expiring June 30, 2024, reappointed.

## **Purpose/Scope of the Board:**

State statute establishes the creation of community corrections boards with authority to approve or disapprove the establishment and operation of community corrections programs within municipalities.

## **Member Qualifications:**

Representatives from the following areas: DPS, victim advocates, citizens, DA's office, criminal justice, adult probation, human services, youth corrections, adult parole, public defender, local elected official, public safety, and sheriff's office.

### **Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen:**

Statute requires representatives from various law enforcement agencies and one individual with experience in criminal justice.

Both individuals bring the knowledge and expertise required under the initiated ordinance.

### **Current Makeup of Board:**

DPS, vacancy

Jason Anderson, Denver (M)(C)

DeAnna Maes, Denver (F)(H).

Steven Abraham, Denver (M)(C).

Mike Anderson, Denver (M)(AA)

Jason D. Romportl, Aurora (M)(C)

Dana Niemela, Golden (F)(C).

Jorge Aleman, Denver (M)(H).

David Johnson, Aurora ((M)(C)

Demetria Trujillo, Denver (F)(H)

Dianna Tramutola-Lawson, Denver (F)(C)

Paul Rosenthal, Denver (M)(C)

Jim Martinez, Denver (M)(H)

Sarah Chaikin, Edgewater (F)(C)

Jane Prancan, Denver (F)(C)

Sherry Jackson, Denver (F)(AA)

Hon. Julie Gonzales, Denver (F)(H).

Chris Meeks, Denver (M)(C)

Shawn Cohn, Littleton (F)(C)

Lt. Michelle Folmar, Denver (F)(C)

Sheriff Elias Diggins (M)(AA).

**Additional Information: None.**