Mayoral Reappointments to the Crime Prevention and Control Commission

To approve the Mayoral reappointments of the following individuals to the Crime Prevention and Control Commission:

Lisa Thompson, Lakewood (F)(C) to serve as a representative of homeless population for a term expiring September 1, 2023, reappointed;

Jennifer Gafford, Denver (F)(C) to serve as a representative of mental health for a term expiring September 1, 2023, reappointed.

Purpose/Scope of the Board: The intent of the Commission is to implement evidence-based, accountable, and efficient public safety strategy to reduce crime, including juvenile delinquency, and to increase neighborhood safety.

Member Qualifications: Members shall be representatives from the defense bar, offender service providers, DPS, juvenile services planning committee, city/county juvenile justice system, academia, homeless and mental health and victim advocates.

Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen: Appointees not only have historical knowledge of the Commission having served previously but also bring expertise on the homeless population and mental health.

Current Makeup of Board:

Sean McDermott, Denver (M)(C) criminal defense

Shawn Cohn, Denver, (M)(C) juvenile justice.

Carol Peeples, Denver (F)(C) offender service provider

Jennifer Gafford, PhD, Denver (F)(C), mental health, (CD9)

Lisa Michelle Thompson, RPN, Lakewood (F)(C) homeless

Required by Ordinance:

Kristin Bronson - COA Designee -Marley Bordovsky

Elias Diggings - Sheriff Designee – Vincent Line

Jay Grimm - DPS

Mayor's Office Designee – Lisa Carpenter Cary Heck - Chief Probation Office

DeAnna Maes - County Court Probation Designee – Lynn Unger

Don Mares - Human Services Designee – Erin Stremming

Greg Mauro – Community Corrections

Murphy Robinson – Public Safety Designee - Laura A. Wachter

Demetria Trujillo – Public Defender

Bob McDonald – DDPHE Designee – Jeff Holliday

Paul Pazen – Chief of Police Designee – Ron Saunier

Alice Norman - Chief Municipal Public Defender

Beth McCann - District Attorney Designee – Thain Bell

Paul Kashman - City Council

Candi CdeBaca - City Council

Additional Information: None.