Mayoral Appointments to the Crime Prevention and Control Commission

To approve the Mayoral appointments of the following individuals to the Crime Prevention and Control Commission:

Elizabeth Ojeda, Denver (F)(H) to serve as an at-large member for a term expiring September 1, 2024, appointed;

Laura Rovner, Denver (F)(C) to serve as a member with expertise in academia for a term expiring September 1, 2024, appointed;

Jonathan McMillan, Aurora (M)(AA) to serve as a member with expertise in juvenile justice for a term expiring September 1, 2024, appointed.

Purpose/Scope of the Board: The intent of the Commission is to implement evidence-based, accountable, and efficient public safety strategy to reduce crime, including juvenile delinquency, and to increase neighborhood safety.

Member Qualifications: Members shall be representatives from the defense bar, offender service providers, DPS, juvenile services planning committee, city/county juvenile justice system, academia, homeless and mental health and victim advocates.

Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen: Appointees bring expertise as required under the Code in the areas of juvenile justice, academia and community.

Current Makeup of Board:

Sean McDermott, Denver (M)(C) criminal defense (NR)

Shawn Cohn, Littleton, (M)(C) juvenile justice

Carol Peeples, Denver (F)(C) offender service provider (CD10)

Jennifer Gafford, PhD, Denver (F)(C), mental health, (CD9)

Lisa Michelle Thompson, RPN, Lakewood (F)(C) homeless

Jonathan McMillan, Aurora ,(M)(AA), juvenile justice

Elizabeth Ojeda, Denver (F)(H) academia (CD2)

Laura Rovener, Denver (F)C) at-large (CD9)

Required under Code:

Kristin Bronson - COA Designee -Marley Bordovsky

Elias Diggings - Sheriff Designee – Vincent Line

Mayor's Office Designee – Lisa Carpenter

Cary Heck - Chief Probation Office

DeAnna Maes - County Court Probation Designee – Lynn Unger

Don Mares - Human Services Designee - Erin Stremming

Greg Mauro – Community Corrections

Murphy Robinson – Public Safety Designee - Laura A. Wachter

Demetria Trujillo – Public Defender

Bob McDonald – DDPHE Designee – Jeff Holliday

Paul Pazen – Chief of Police Designee – Ron Saunier

Alice Norman - Chief Municipal Public Defender

Beth McCann - District Attorney Designee – Thain Bell

Paul Kashman - City Council

Candi CdeBaca - City Council

Deborah Ortega – City Council

Additional Information: None.