Mayoral Appointment to the Denver Head Start Policy Council

To approve the Mayoral appointment of the following individual to the Denver Head Start Policy Council:

Kathryn Newell, Denver (F)(C) to serve as a community member for a term expiring July 20, 2022.

Purpose/Scope of the Board:

The Council governs the activities of the Denver Head Start office to ensure that it is performing all actions necessary to deliver a Head Start Program in accordance with all applicable Federal, State and local laws, rules regulations and/or ordinances.

Member Qualifications: 21 members – parents of currently enrolled children and community members with expertise in health care providers, accountants, attorneys, early childhood educators, foundation or charitable staff, nonprofit organization staff, businesspersons, parents of children formerly enrolled in head start program and persons with financial experience.

Selection Process and why this applicant was chosen: following submittal of applications, candidates are reviewed to determine if they meet the criteria as required and if they share a commitment to the welfare of head start children.

Current Board Makeup -

Vera Atilano, Denver (F)(H) Dwayne Meeks, Denver (M)(AA) Tiaja Pierre, Denver (F)(H) Megan Bock, Broomfield (F)(C) Kathryn Newell, Denver (F)(C) Additional Information: None.