## Mayoral Appointment to the Denver Head Start Policy Council

To approve the Mayoral appointment of the following individuals to the Denver Head Start Policy Council:

Pedro Mendez, Denver (M)(H to serve as a community member for a term expiring July 20, 2022, appointed;

Megan Bock, Broomfield (F)(C) to serve as a community member for a term expiring July 20, 2022, reappointed;

Dwayne Meeks, Denver (M)(AA) to serve as a community member for a term expiring July 20, 2022, reappointed.

## **Purpose/Scope of the Board:**

The Council governs the activities of the Denver Head Start office to ensure that it is performing all actions necessary to deliver a Head Start Program in accordance with all applicable Federal, State and local laws, rules regulations and/or ordinances.

**Member Qualifications:** 21 members – parents of currently enrolled children and community members with expertise in health care providers, accountants, attorneys, early childhood educators, foundation or charitable staff, nonprofit organization staff, businesspersons, parents of children formerly enrolled in head start program and persons with financial experience.

Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen: Each member indicated a strong commitment to ensuring the welfare of young people who participate in head start programs.

## **Current Board Makeup -**

Tiaja Pierre, Denver (F)(H) Kathryn Newell, Denver (F)(C) Pedro Mendez, Denver (M)(H) Megan Bock, Broomfield (F)(C) Dwayne Meeks, Denver (M)(AA)

Additional Information: None.