Mayoral Appointments/reappointments to the Community Corrections Board

To approve the Mayoral appointment/reappointment of the following individual(s) to the Community Corrections Board:

DeAnna Maes, Denver (F)(H) to serve as a citizen member for a term expiring June 30, 2022, reappointed;

Mike Anderson, Denver (M)(C) to serve as a member with expertise in criminal justice for a term expiring June 30, 2022, reappointed;

Michelle Sykes, Denver (F)(AA) to serve as a member with expertise in criminal justice for a term expiring June 30, 2023, appointed;

Jason D. Romportl, Aurora (M)(C) to serve as a representative of Adult Probation for a term expiring June 30, 2023, reappointed;

Dana Niemela, Golden (F)(C) to serve as a representative of the Department of Human Services for a term expiring June 30, 2023, reappointed;

Jesse Forrest, Denver (F)(C) to serve as a representative of the Denver District Attorney's Office for a term expiring June 30, 2025, appointed;

Matthew Beresky, Castle Rock (M)(C) to serve as a victim advocate for a term expiring June 30, 2025, appointed;

David Johnson, Aurora (M)(C) to serve as a representative of Adult Parole for a term expiring June 30, 2025, reappointed.

Jorge Aleman, Denver (M)(H) to serve as a representative of Youth Corrections for a term expiring June 30, 2025, reappointed.

Purpose/Scope of the Board:

State statute establishes the creation of community corrections boards with authority to approve or disapprove the establishment and operation of community corrections programs within municipalities.

Member Qualifications:

Representatives from the following areas: DPS, victim advocates, citizens, DA's office, criminal justice, adult probation, human services, youth corrections, adult parole, public defender, local elected official, public safety, and sheriff's office.

Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen: each of the individuals represents a statutory requirement for members.

Current Makeup of Board:

DeAnna Maes, Denver (F)(H)

Mike Anderson, Denver (M)(C)

Demetria Trujillo, Denver (F)(H)

Dianna Tramutola-Lawson, Denver

Paul Rosenthal, Denver (M)(C)

Jim Martinez, Denver (M)(H)

Michelle Sykes, Denver (F)(AA)

Jason D. Romportl, Aurora (M)(C)

Dana Niemela, Golden (F)(C)

Jane Prancan, Denver (F)(C)

Sherry Jackson, Denver (F)(AA)

Hon. Julie Gonzales, Denver (F)(H)

Chris Meeks, Denver (M)(C)

Shawn Cohn, Littleton (F)(C)

Lt. Michelle Folmar, Denver (F)(C)

Sheriff Elias Diggins (M)(AA)

Jesse Forrest, Denver (F)(C)

Matthew Beresky, Castle Rock

Jorge Aleman, Denver (M)(H)

David Johnson, Aurora ((M)(C)

Additional Information: None.