## **Mayoral Appointment to the Commission on Cultural Affairs**

To approve the Mayoral appointment of the following individual to the Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs:

Dwayne Glapion, Denver (M)(AA)(CD11) to serve as a representative of the arts for a term expiring August 31, 2023, and occasioned by the resignation of Ryan Foo, appointed.

Purpose/Scope of the Board: RMC 28-20

The Commission is responsible for providing advice and input to the Denver Office of Cultural Affairs on issues relating to art and cultural affairs.

**Member Qualifications:** The Commission on Cultural Affairs seeks candidates that represent Denver's diverse community and is specifically looks for leaders who either live in Denver, or who are immersed in the Denver community with the following backgrounds and experience:

- Working artists, arts administrators, creative entrepreneurs, etc.
- Strategic Planning & Implementation
- Nonprofit Management
- Real Estate & Built Environment
- Philanthropy
- Board Development & Leadership
- Marketing & Communication
- Diversity, Equity & Inclusiveness

**Selection Process and why these applicants were chosen**: following his submittal of an application and survey, all are reviewed and scored by the Director of Arts & Venues, and both co-chairs. An interview was scheduled, and a decision made, that he is a candidate who not only can offer expertise and City Council district representation, but also bring value to the Commission based on his expertise and knowledge.

## Current Board Makeup -

Alexis Moore, Denver (F)(C)(CD1) rep. urban planner, appt.

Eriko Tsogo, Denver (F)(Asian),CD4), rep. artist/creative director, appt.

Viniyanka Prasad, Denver (F)(Asian)(CD10), ED/Storytelling Sanctuary, appt.

Stephanie Tavares-Rance, Aurora, (F)(AA) rep. strategic partnerships, marketing, events and public relations, appt.

Beth Mosenthal, Denver(F)(C)(CD6), rep. architect, reappt.

Kevin Smith, Denver (M)(C)(CD9) rep. Denver Film Society, appt.

David Conger, Denver (M)(C)(CD10), rep. public art and architecture, appt.

Tess Vigil, Denver (F)(H)(CD8) rep. DPS, reappt.

FloraJane DiRienzo, Denver (F)(C)(CD7), rep. DCPA, reappt. Co-Chair

Jami Duffy, Denver (F)(C)(CD9) rep. youth, reappt.

Dwayne Glapion, Denver (M)(AA) (CD11), appt.

Lisa Kennedy, Denver (F)(C)(CD2), rep. arts journalism, appt.

Stephen Brackett, Denver (M)(AA)CD9), rep. musician and educator, reappt.

Damon McLeese, Denver (M)(C)(CD9) rep. artists with disabilities, appt.

Courtney Stell, Denver(F)(C)(CD3), rep. contemporary arts, appt.

Dudley "Van" Schoales, Denver(M)(C)(CD10), rep. president A+1 Colo., reappt.

Heather Nielsen, Denver (F)(C)(CD7), DMA, reappt. Co-chair

Leesly Leon, Denver (F)(LX)(CD9) rep. communication, reappt.

Michael McClung, Denver (M)(C)(CD10), rep. arts, reappt.

Christopher Zacher, Denver (M)(C)(CD8), rep. ED Levitt Pavilion, appt.

Aisha Ahmad-Post, Englewood (F)(Two Races)(CDNA), rep. ED Newman Center, appt.

Ricardo Acosta, Denver (M)(H) (CD8) rep. retired, appt.

Dan Manzanares, Denver (M)(H)(CD8) rep. Comm. Manager, DU Prison Arts Initiative, appt.

Alfredo Reyes, Denver (M)(H)(CD4) rep. ED Latino Cultural Arts Center, appt.

Sarah Hogan, Denver (F)(C)(CD2)rep. Principal Bearfoot PR, appt

Additional Information: None.